We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
of 495

East Carlton Hall

Digital Item
n/a n/a
This item is active and ready to use
East Carlton Hall
This image is a copy photograph of a postcard of East Carlton Hall as it appeared about 1900, which had been cut to fit in a scrapbook. Known as Carlton Hall until the late nineteenth century this house was occupied by the Palmer family for more than 400 years.

E. F. Law redesigned this house in red brick and ironstone in 1870, replacing a late Palladian house. Each side is symmetrical and there is a colonnaded porch over the entrance. By 1936 it had been converted into a hostel for unmarried staff at British Steel and in 1978 it was sold to Corby District Council. The Council sold the house and a small amount of land surrounding it. It has since been refurbished and is once again a private residence.

The Hall is a listed building Grade II and the gates and gate piers approximately 300 metres west of the Hall on Church Lane are also listed grade II. The estate, once a deer park, has been developed by the Council into a Country Park and Heritage Centre open to the public.
Personal use only unless otherwise agreed
  • Market Harborough Collections
Exhibitions With This Image