We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
The High Cross At Crown Hills
of 1

The High Cross At Crown Hills

Digital Item
Julie Thomson
This item is active and ready to use
12906
The High Cross At Crown Hills
GUILDHALL - HOLY CROSS CHURCH (cabinet)
Strongroom Stack 24
The High Cross
General view of highcross column

1/2 Glass plate negative
GP6921

Negatives Collection, Leicestershire Record Office

The High Cross was originally part of a market shelter, built in 1577, which stood on Highcross St in Leicester. By 1733 the structure was in a bad state of repair, so was demolished and sold off in sections. The High Cross was the last remaining pillar and remained in place until 1836. It was then bought by James Rawson (the owner of the Crescent on King Street), and moved in front of the buildings. The High Cross was then moved to Cheapside by the market in 1977, then moved again in 2014 to Jubilee Square, close to its original location.
GP6921
Personal use only unless otherwise agreed