We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.
of 125

Dingley hall

Digital Item
n/a n/a
This item is active and ready to use
7789
Dingley hall
Dingley Hall, around 1950. A house has stood on this site from medieval times when it was a Preceptory for the Knights' Hospitallers. It is first recorded as Dinglei, meaning "the woodland clearing marked by valleys". At the dissolution of the monasteries it was sold to Edward Griffin.

During the late 1550s the house was extensively rebuilt leaving only the tower and porch. Further additions were made in the 1680s and the porch - which is dated 1558 - was re-sited during these alterations. In 1781-2 the west wing was demolished, but it remained a large rambling house.

The Hall continued as a family home until 1936. During WWII it was used as a nursing home. Although the estate was sold in 1958, the house was left to deteriorate until it was rescued in 1976. It has now been divided into seven houses and three flats.

This photograph is a copy of the original three-colour postcard. It was commissioned by Green, a Market Harborough stationer, from Valentine & Sons of Dundee, who were founded in 1896. Valentine also issued cards locally in their own name.
Blank/Empty
mh1_1996_138_0a.jpg
Personal use only unless otherwise agreed
  • Market Harborough Collections
Exhibitions With This Image